The Year Of The Don

Donnybrook at the 2018, Dale Alcock Homes, SWFL Premiers, defeating Bunbury by 39 points in the Grand Final at Hands Memorial Oval.

A dominant first quarter, which saw Brett Eades kick three goals, had the Dons up by 28 points at the opening break.  The margin was extended further in the second quarter with the margin sitting at 46 points at half time.

The situation was made worse in the third quarter when Donnybrook kicked the first goal to extend the margin to 52 points, with Bunbury staring down the barrel of recording the lowest ever score in a Grand Final.  To their credit, the Bulldogs rallied, kicking five goals for the term, as Jesse Gribble tried valiantly to get Bunbury back in the match.  A mad scramble on the goal line, eventually saw Chris Atthowe goal, had the margin at 34 points at the final change.

Bunbury continued to challenge in the final quarter, twice reducing the margin to 28 points, but their day was summed up by Matt Partridge who ran into an open goal and missed from the goal line, landing the ball 40m away for a throw-in.  Donnybrook resisted the challenge and with Brett Eades kicking a best on ground (Pike Medal) six goals, Donnybrook would win their fifth flag, and first since 2000.

Match Centre

Donnybrook  5.4-34  8.11-59  11.15-81  16.16-112
Bunbury  1.0-6 2.1-13  7.5-47  11.7-73

Goals:  Donnybrook – Brett Eades 6, Jace Cormack 2, Fraser Healey 2, Lance Smith 1, Jayden D’Vauz 1, Chris Atthowe 1, Dion Parker 1, Joshua Buckley 1, Sam Lowrie 1.  Bunbury –  Jesse Gribble 5, Dylan Heasman 3, Tyson Wood 1, Braiden McMullen 1, Brett Peake 1.
Best: Donnybrook – Brett Eades, Chris Atthowe, Stephen Beal, Jace Cormack, Kieran Hug, Sean Lynch.  Bunbury – Jesse Gribble, Travis Gray, Travis Justins, Cullen Boyd, Dylan Heasman, Codey Hay.
Umpires: Michael Hearne, Aaron Andrews, Kevin Hutchins
Reports: Nil
Pike Medal: Brett Eades
Ground: JE Hands Memorial Oval
Attendance: 3890

Photo courtesy of Wayne Hislop photography