Umpires Announced For Grand Finals

The South West Football League Umpires Association have tonight announced the Grand Final Umpires for this Sunday’s Grand Finals at Hands Memorial Oval, after holding their annual presentation night.

Michael Hearne, Aaron Andrews and Kevin Hutchins will be the three field umpires presiding over the League Game between Donnybrook and Bunbury.   Hearne and Andrews will officiate their fourth League Grand Finals, moving to equal fourth on the all time League Grand Final list for Field Umpires, behind Kevin Nettleton, Greg Koch and Darren Larson.  Hutchins will umpire his second Grand Final.

The Boundary Umpires will consist of Zac Peachey umpiring his second League Grand Final, along with debutants, Ben Cole and Yarno Pyne.  Jarrad Andrews, the fourth member of the team, will break the all time record by officiating in his eighth League Grand Final in a row.

The Goal Umpires will be Josh Daniels who will officiate his first League Final, while at the other end, will be the most experienced Goal Umpire in SWFL History, Jason Crowe, who will officiate his 16th League Grand Final and tenth in a row.

A highlight of the night was the announcement of Life Membership to Laurie Sutherland and Jason Crowe, both who were blind-sided by the announcements.

Award Winners

Kevin Nettleton Field Umpire of the Year: Michael Hearne
Boundary Umpire of the Year: Zac Peachey
Ray Dau Goal Umpire of the Year: Josh Daniels

Ray Pulford Rising Star: Lucy Bastin
Presidents Award: Josh Bennett
Coaches Award: Robbie Fay

Life Membership:  Laurie Sutherland, Jason Crowe

Reserves Umpires
Field:  Vance Burton, Matt Chernabaeff, Damien O’Donoghue, Scott Buchanan EMG
Boundary:  Jack Gibellini, Brian Feutrill, Allivia Pyne
Goal:  Matt Devenish, Robbie Fay

Colts Umpires
Field: Matt Stewart, Scott Golder, Cameron Edmonds, Josh Bennett EMG
Boundary: Lucy Bastin, Rory DeVaney, Emma Hutchins
Goal: Simon Thomas, Damien Cifelli