Bulldogs Victorious In Reserves Decider

The Bunbury Bulldogs have broken a sixteen year hiatus from premiership glory in the Reserves competition, when they defeated Busselton in the Grand Final on Sunday afternoon.

In a see-sawing match, with numerous momentum swings, Busselton started much the better in the opening term, kicking the only two goals to lead by thirteen points at the opening break.

Busselton would then be kept scoreless in the second quarter, with Bunbury charging back into contention, kicking three goals to the scoreboard end to lead by eight points at the main break.

The third quarter would be an enthralling battle, with seven goals kicked, including five lead changes and scores were also level at one point, as the Bulldogs took a solitary point lead into the last break.

Unlike the third quarter, a tough tight battle returned in the last quarter, with Bunbury kicking the only goal late in the match to win by ten points, to claim their first Reserves Premiership since 2005.

Cameron Hay was the only multiple goal scorer on the ground, kicking three goals, with Dylan Partidge and Hamish Hall also amongst the best players.


Bunbury   0.3-3  3.6-24  6.8-44  7.12-54
Busselton 2.4-16  2.4-16  6.7-43  6.8-44

Goals:  Bunbury – Cameron Hay 3, Tobi Horton, Baiden Parsons, Dylan Wicksteed, Hamish Hall.  Busselton – Troyden Thorp, Beau Chinnery, Mason Hislop, Jed Kemp, William Mackay, Leo Malavisi
Best:   Bunbury – Dylan Partridge, Hamish Hall, Cameron Hay, Jared Lines, Aaron Mills, Jordan Teune.  Busselton – Mathew Harbeck, Reece Towers, Jack Kennedy, Troyden Thorp, Brock Carpenter, Thomas Begley
Ground:  Hands Memorial Oval
Umpires:  Vance Burton, Kevin Hutchins, Matthew Stewart
Reports:  Nil
Don Punch Trophy:  Cameron Hay (Bunbury)
Crowd:  4378