Bunbury Win Premiership Thriller

Bunbury survived a kick after the siren to win their ninth premiership, in a thrilling Grand Final at Hands Oval in Bunbury on Sunday afternoon.

Busselton forward, Jed Kemp, marked the ball 51 metres out and as he walked back to take a deliberate shot at goal, the siren sounded, with the large crowd at fever pitch.

Kemp needed to kick the goal for Busselton to win by a point, but it landed three metres out, as Bunbury celebrated one of the most dramatic grand finals in the last 20 years.

Bunbury started the match in a blaze of glory, kicking six goals in the opening term, making the most of a handy breeze, taking a five goal lead into the first break.

Busselton in a fifteen minute period returned serve, hitting the front nearing half time, as the game intensified.

The four point half time lead dimished quickly as the Bulldogs took the lead back early in the third quarter, but Busselton were able to kick two goals against the breeze.  Midway through the third quarter, the scoreboard reflected a reminder of the drawn grand final in 2012, with both teams locked at 68 a piece.

Busselton reclaimed the lead in the final quarter and looked the goods, dominating possession, before the Bulldogs scored at the 19 minute mark of the final term to reclaim the lead.  With the crowd at fever pitch, Busselton had one last opportunity in the dying seconds, with Kemp marking just prior the final siren.  The kick would fall three metres short, and Bunbury would be premiers, in the best grand final since the drawn grand final earlier this decade.

Cam Hay was instrumental kicking four goals for the victors, with Jesse Gribble adjudged best on ground taking the Pike Medal.  Mitch Howlett kicked three goals for the Magpies, with Jackson Arbon and Ethan Bowman playing good games.

Match Centre
Bunbury  6.1.37  6.2.38  10.8.68  11.8.74
Busselton  1.1.7  6.6.42  8.6.54   10.9.69

Goals:  Bunbury – Cameron Hay 4, Jordan Adamson-Holmes 2, Sam Davies 2, Denholm King 2, Cameron Lamonica 1.   Busselton – Mitch Howlett 3, Mitch Tenardi 1, Jack Armstrong 1, Jackson Arbon 1, Reegan Mrsich 1, Jaxon East 1, Kester Decke 1, Harry Curtain 1.
Best:  Bunbury – Jesse Gribble, Cameron Hay, Denholm King,  Jacob Williams,  Harry Creasey, Jacob Wintle. Busselton – Jackson Arbon, Ethan Bowman, Mitch Tenardi, Matt Harbeck, Jon Meadmore, Connor DeCampo.
Umpires:  Greg Rolfe, Aaron Andrews, Scott Jones
Reports:  Nil
Pike Medal:  Jesse Gribble
Ground:  Hands Memorial Oval
Crowd:  3554

2020 Premiers – Bunbury Photo courtesy of South Western Times