Busselton Victory With Last Quarter Blitz

Busselton romped to victory at Sir Stewart Bovell Park on Sunday afternoon, kicking seven unanswered goals in the final quarter to defeat the Bunbury Bulldogs by 55 points before a healthy crowd, on a perfect day for football.

The match promised plenty and duly delivered in the first three quarters, with Busselton taking a six point lead into the first break, before three lead changes in the second quarter had the home team up by seven points at half time in a tough uncompromising match, with just seven goals kicked between the two teams.

The game started to open up in the third quarter as both teams found the scoreboard more frequently, with Busselton taking a twelve point lead into the final change, with a big finish imminent.

That big finish only came from one team, as Busselton kicked goal after goal in the final term, as Bunbury managed just one behind in the final term, sinking to their third consecutive loss, and kicking just thirteen goals in the process in those three games.

Busselton’s win now puts them equal with Bunbury on points, and will now only play teams below them on the ladder for the remainder of the home and away season, while Bunbury still have matches against the Hawks and the Tigers at the back end of the season.

Nathan Arbon was the best player on the ground, while Jed Kemp kicked his biggest haul of the season, finishing with five goals.

Busselton  3.4.22  4.6.30  8.7.55  15.9.99
Bunbury  2.4.16  3.5.23  6.7.43  6.8.44

Goals:  Busselton – Jed Kemp 5, Liam Creighton 3, Mitchell Howlett 3, Beau Chinnery 2, Jake Dugan 1, Bailey Sanford 1.  Bunbury – Hayden Yarran 2, Scott Doncon 1, Cameron Hay 1, Jett Rigby 1, Tyson Wood 1.
Best:  BusseltonNathan Arbon, Jed Kemp, Bailey Sanford, Zac Pethybridge, Jake Dugan, Lachlan Wood.  Bunbury – Matt Partridge, Jackson Oliver, Jesse Gribble, Dylan Heasman, Scott Doncon, Beau Luzi.
Ground:  Sir Stewart Bovell Park
Umpires:  Daniel Ebert, Damien O’Donoghue, Scott Jones
Reports:  Nil
Crowd:  654

Nathan Arbon flanked by Field Umpires Daniel Ebert and Damien O’Donoghue after being announced as best on ground.