Busselton Win Minor Premiership With Four Rounds To Spare

Busselton have defeated Harvey Bulls by 79 points at Sir Stewart Bovell Park on Saturday afternoon, and in doing so have won the minor premiership and have booked themselves into a second semi final berth.

Even with four rounds remaining, the win ensured that they can not be caught by any other team, and they will finish on top of the ladder.  The team now also knows they will play in a home second semi final, with a win transferring them straight to the Grand Final.

Busselton were superior all over the ground, opening a 26 point lead at the first break.  The Bulls, to their credit, responded in the second quarter kicking five goals, but so too did Busselton, with the margin 30 points at half time.

As they have done repeatedly in season 2023, Busselton went up a gear in the third, kicking another five goals, but restricted the Bulls to just two behinds.

The final term was much of the same, although if there was to be a blight on the result would be that Busselton kicked seventeen behinds, with goal kicking efficiency at 52%, but the margin in some respects was immaterial.

Busselton again had a multitude of players kicking goals, with twelve players getting on the score sheet, which made the Bulls defensive job even harder to cover.  Jake Dugan and Liam Creighton were amongst the best with the latter kicking four goals, while Lloyd Beever and Andrew Heydon were two players for the Bulls who had plenty of possessions.

Busselton will now face Carey Park in a top of the table showdown next Saturday evening at Kelly Park, while Harvey will host South Bunbury on Sunday.

Busselton 5.3.33  10.7.67  15.12.102  19.17.131
Harvey Bulls 1.1.7  6.1.37  6.3.39  8.4.52

Goals:  Busselton – Liam Creighton 4, Jackson Arbon 2, Jaxon East 2, Dylan Patterson 2, Kayne Cox 2, Brodie Howell 1, Jack Kennedy 1, Joshua Lee 1, Blake Riley 1, Austin Styles 1, Mitchell Tenardi 1, Thomas Vellios 1.  Harvey Bulls – Brad Holmes 2,  Tyson Powell 2, Paul Bower 1, Kyle Humphries 1, Zak Italiano 1, Samuel Lewis 1.
Best:  BusseltonJake Dugan, Liam Creighton, Jack Kennedy, Mitchell Tenardi, Jackson Arbon, Jaxon East.  Harvey Bulls – Lloyd Beever, Andrew Haydon, Paul Bower, Kyle Humphries, Rhys Anzellino, Zak Italiano.
Ground: Sir Stewart Bovell Park
Umpires:  Daniel Ebert, Braden Surrall
Reports: Nil
Crowd: 663

All photos courtesy of Sharyn Newlands