Grand Final Umpires Announced

The South West Football League Umpires Association announced their grand final umpires at a function held tonight, which will see three highly experienced officials in charge.

Cameron Valenti who was named the Kevin Nettleton Field Umpire of the Year, may be doing his first League Grand Final in the SWFL, but comes with highly credentialed from other Leagues on the East Coast.  He will be joined by Scott Jones and Aaron Andrews both umpiring their sixth League Grand Finals, equaling the tally of Greg Koch.  Only one Field Umpire has umpired more grand finals in the Field – Kevin Nettleton.

Jack Connell and Braeden Burton will officiate their first League Grand Final on the Boundary, being joined by Riley Hearne (2nd) and Jarrad Andrews who will officiate in his twelfth consecutive Grand Final.  Hearne was announced as the Harold Membery Boundary Umpire of the Year.

Goal Umpire Josh Daniels will do his fourth Grand Final and will be joined by Robbie Fay, who will officiate in his first Grand Final, and was also awarded the Jason Crowe medal, as Goal Umpire of the Year.

Former Umpire and now General Manager, Jason Crowe, was inducted into the Umpire Hall of Fame, becoming just the eighth member, after umpiring his 1000th game earlier in the season.  Michael Hearne and Katrina Edwards were awarded Life Membership of the Association.

League – Augusta Margaret River v South Bunbury

Field Umpires:  Cameron Valenti, Scott Jones, Aaron Andrews.  Emergency:  Vance Burton.
Boundary Umpires:  Riley Hearne, Jarrad Andrews, Jack Connell, Braeden Burton.
Goal Umpires:  Robbie Fay, Josh Daniels.  Third Scorer:  Katrina Edwards

Reserves – Augusta Margaret River v South Bunbury

Field Umpires:  Greg Rolfe, Michael Hearne, Damien O’Donoghue.  Emergency:  Matthew Stewart
Boundary Umpires:  Russell King, Scott Peachey, Talen Guthrie.
Goal Umpires:  Martyn Tompkins, Jason Morrow.  Third Scorer:  Robert Schmidt

Colts – Carey Park v Bunbury

Field Umpires:  Vance Burton, Braden Surrall, Henry King.  Emergency:  Daniel Ebert
Boundary Umpires:  Joel Chernabaeff, Emma Hutchins, Allivia Pyne
Goal Umpires:  Brad Howe, Phil Hare. Third Scorer:  Sylvain Smit

Daniella Schoeman was awarded the Ray Pulford Rising Star award, while Kevin Nettleton was awarded the Presidents Award, Dylan Atkins won the Goal Umpires Coaches Award, Joel Chernabaeff was awarded the Boundary Umpires Coaches Award, and the Field Umpire Coaches Award was taken out by Paul Davey.

Scott Jones with Cameron Valenti and Aaron Andrews after being announced as the three Field Umpires in charge of Sundays Grand Final.