Hawks Go Back To Back

Augusta Margaret River have won the 2022 Dale Alcock Homes South West, SWFL League Grand Final, defeating South Bunbury in a thriller by four points at Hands Oval on Sunday afternoon.

The Hawks mounted a stunning last quarter resurgence in a low scoring affair, where both teams attacking moves were thwarted by both teams back lines.

Trailing by seventeen points at three quarter time, and having just one goal for the match, the Hawks kicked four last quarter goals to hit the front with five minutes remaining, courtesy of a Ben Taylor kick from outside fifty on the run.  The goal sent fans into a frenzy, as the Hawks had trailed for the best part of the match despite leading at quarter time.

The third quarter was soured when Jake Rodgers was knocked out, and in an unusual sight, the Ambulance was placed on the ground to take him to Bunbury Health Campus for observation.  Rodgers received a collective round of applause from all at the ground as the Ambulance left the ground.  He would return to the ground after the match.

The combined totals of both teams is the lowest in a grand final, with both teams only able to amass seventy points between them.

The final five minutes was exhilarating as the ball spent a good portion of the time in South Bunbury’s forward fifty, but the Tigers were only able to score a behind in that time, with Hawks holding on in a thrilling finish to win by four points.

Simon Moore and Kyle Anderson were standouts for the Hawks while Jace Cormack and Shaun Crane played well for the Tigers.  Cormack was awarded the Pike Medal for best player on the ground, becoming just the thirteenth player to receive the medal from the losing team and the first since 2006.

Earlier South Bunbury won the Reserves in an upset over Augusta Margaret River, while Carey Park accounted for Bunbury in the Colts.


Augusta Margaret River  1.3.9  1.5.11  1.6.12  5.7.37
South Bunbury  0.2.2  3.3.21  4.5.29  4.9.33

Goals:  Augusta Margaret River – Ben Taylor 2, Tim Noakes 2, Mitchell Payne 1.  South Bunbury – Kade Wallrodt 1, Ethan Nordahl 1, Chris Atthowe 1, Jace Cormack 1.
Best:  Augusta Margaret RiverSimon Moore, Kyle Anderson, Kael Coleman, Jacob Payne, Ben Taylor, Max Paterson.  South Bunbury – Jace Cormack, Shaun Crane, Tim Sutherland, Thomas Gorter, Ethan Nordahl.
Ground:  Hands Oval
Umpires:  Cameron Valenti, Scott Jones, Aaron Andrews
Reports:  Nil
Crowd: 3532
Pike Medal:  Jace Cormack

It was tight and tough as expected right throughout the grand final. Photo courtesy of Wayne Hislop