Hawks Win Thriller

Augusta Margaret River have won the Elimination Final by a solitary point after a pulsating final term at Hands Memorial Oval on Sunday afternoon.

It was just the second time in history that the Elimination Final has been decided by a point, 20 years after Mines Rovers famously beat the Collie Saints, at the Collie Recreation Ground in horrendous conditions by the same margin.

South Bunbury made the perfect start, kicking four unanswered goals in the first quarter, and still held a three goal lead at half time. The Hawks made their move in the third term kicking five goals, and despite a double goal to South Bunbury, the margin was narrowed to six points at the final change.

In a gripping final term where both teams held the lead, scores were level on four occasions, and extra time was a very real possibility.  In a highly tense final few moments, the Hawks seemingly were destined to score but didn’t as the Tigers defended grimly, smothering the ball twice in the goal square before the ball eventually was forced over the scoring line in a rolling scrum to put the Hawks in front.   The ball traveled back and forth in a gripping final minute before the siren sounded with the play in the centre of the ground.

In contrasting emotions, the Hawks players and fans were delirious, while for the Tigers, most were dejected on the grass after a brilliant game of football.  The Hawks will progress to the first semi final and play Eaton Boomers at Glen Huon Reserve next Sunday.

Match Centre

Augusta Margaret River   0.1-1  4.2-26  9.4-58  14.6-90
South Bunbury 4.0-24  7.2-44  10.4-64  14.5-89

Goals: Augusta Margaret River – Mitchell Lynn 3, Jack Hick 3, Mitchell Payne 3, Mitchell Gerrans, Rhys Owen, Beau Morgan, Thomas McDonald, Brett Dobson. South Bunbury – Leigh Kohlmann 4, Guy. Piggott 4, Jack Deschamp 2, Rocco Versace, Jed Montgomerie, Matt Giacci, Jay Crossman
Best: Augusta Margaret River – Mitchell Gerrans, Beau Morgan, Brett Dobson, Mitchell Lynn, Seve Grantis, David Hill.  South Bunbury – Matt Giacci, Thomas Harper, Sayln Stein, Rocco Versace, Leigh Kohlmann, Guy Piggott
Umpires:  Aaron Andrews, Cameron Edmonds, Michael Hearne
Reports: Nil
Ground: JE Hands Memorial Oval
Attendance: 1057