Lions Win In Last Kick Thriller

Harvey Brunswick Leschenault have defeated Busselton in a thriller at Sir Stewart Bovell Park on Saturday morning in the Colts Elimination Final, with Jaxon Cuxson kicking the winning goal from inside the centre square.

With Busselton in front by two points in the dying seconds, Cuxson unloaded from inside the centre square with just two players forward of the play.  The ball rolled and rolled and rolled some more, beating the desperate lunge of the Busselton defender.  The siren sounded 15 seconds later before another act of play.

The match was close throughout, with the biggest margin being twelve points, with the Lions starting the better, kicking the only two goals of the opening term.

Francis Toovey kicked the Magpies first goal in the second quarter, which turned out to be the only goal.

Scoring freed up in the third quarter, with Ben Ganzer kicking two quick goals to put the home team in front.  Pierce Ferguson replied soon after with a set shot, as the lead continued to fluctuate under a goal.

Brody Delaney kicked the opening goal of the final term and that was quickly negated by Ferguson who put the Lions back in front.  Ben Taylor kicked a late goal to put the Magpies back in front after a brief period where scores were level.

The dying stages saw play congregate on Busselton’s half forward line with numerous ball ups before the ball came free, landing in the arms of Cuxson, who sank the hearts of the Busselton players.

The Lions will advance to the first semi final and will play the loser of the Qualifying Final between Bunbury and Dunsborough.


Harv Bruns Lesch  2.3.15  2.5.17  4.8.32  7.11.53
Busselton  0.3.3  1.5.11  5.5.35  7.7.49

Goals:  Harvey Brunswick Leschenault – Pierce Ferguson 2, Josh Tartaglia 2, Jaxon Cuxson 1, Harry Gualter 1, Lain Haunold 1.  Busselton – Ben Ganzer 2, Ben Taylor 2, Francis Toovey 2, Brody Delaney 1.
Best:  Harvey Brunswick LeschenaultJoshua Tartaglia, Whiu Pitman, Jaxon Cuxson, Noah Mills, Ned Gualter, Jackson Cooper.  Busselton – Ben Ganzer, Ashley Woods, Kaiden Radich, Nicholas Tucker, Noah Andrews, Callum Gannaway.
Ground: Sir Stewart Bovell Park
Umpires:  Ben Whitehill, Damien Brennan, Henry King
Reports: Nil
Crowd: 600 approx

Photo courtesy of Sharyn Newlands