Sharks Win Thriller In Stunning Comeback

Dunsborough have defeated Harvey Bulls on Sunday afternoon with a stirring final term at the Dunsborough Playing Fields, with a two point victory in the clubs final home game of the season.

The Sharks who have been involved in seven matches prior to Sunday, where they have lost by 12 points of less, have reversed the trend finally, winning a thriller by two points, and in doing so have now been involved in three games in a row, where the margin has been five points or less.

In round eighteen, the Sharks lost to Bunbury by five points, while in round nineteen, Dunsborough gave up a 21 point lead in the last quarter to lose by a point.

The match had many talking points, played in two halves, with the Bulls on top early, leading by seventeen points at quarter time, with Jacob Pickett a thorn in the Dunsborough defence  The margin extended to 21 points at half time, and should have been more if not for some inaccurate kicking.

That inaccurate kicking was on full display in the third term, with the Bulls kicking 1.9 (15) for the term, while Dunsborough kicked three goals straight, and still trailed by 18 points at the final change.

An impassioned plea by Coach Daniel Wiseman for the Sharks to finish strong was followed as the Sharks stormed home, kicking three quick goals to narrow the margin to less than a goal, as the Bulls added a further four behinds, before Matthew Burgess put the Sharks in front for the first time in the match with just two minutes to play.

After losing so many matches narrowly, the relief and joy on the Sharks players faces was evident for all to see, with the Bulls wondering what might have been, having thirty scoring shots to twelve.

The win puts the Sharks back in ninth place, with away games to Augusta Margaret River and Eaton to finish their season

Dunsborough  2.0.12  4.1.25  7.1.43  11.1.67
Harvey Bulls  4.5.29  6.10.46  7.19.61  7.23.65

Goals:  Dunsborough – Matthew Burgess 3, Chris White 3, Sam Goldstone 1, Jake Green 1, Anthony Marinovich 1, Pat McGinnity 1, Mick Sherry 1.  Harvey Bulls – Jacob Pickett 3, Jordan Rakowski 2, Lloyd Beever 1, Tyson Powell 1.
Best:  DunsboroughMack Candy, Max Paterson, Rohan Stokes, James Borshoff, Ben Scott, Kane Dawson.  Harvey Bulls – Andrew Haydon, Thomas Wood, Rhys Anzellino, Jacob Pickett, Lloyd Beever.
Ground:  Dunsborough Playing Fields
Umpires:  Cameron Valenti, Riley Hearne, Damien O’Donoghue
Reports:  Nil
Crowd: 567