Thriller And Record In Minor Grand Finals

Harvey Brunswick Leschenault and Eaton Boomers played out a thriller in the SWFL Reserves Grand Final on Sunday, with the Lions coming from 12 points down at the final change in a low scoring affair to win by a solitary point, erasing the memory of last years defeat.

The Lions were in front for less than two minutes in the entire match, after kicking the first behind of the match they trailed until mid way through the final quarter, with both teams trading goals, with the final goal coming less than a minute from full time.

Bunbury meanwhile, went back to back in the Colts Grand Final, kicking a record score in a Colts Grand Final when they scored 20.10.130, which surpassed South Bunbury’s 1983 score of 18.12.120.  Bunbury were always in control apart from a brief period in the second quarter when Busselton reduced the margin to fifteen points.  A dominant third quarter saw the Bulldogs kick seven goals, breaking the game wide open to a margin on 49 points, which was a bridge too far for Busselton to close in the final term.  Jett Rigby was the best player on the ground.

Match Centre

Harvey Brunswick Leschenault  1.7-13  3.7-25  4.7-31  8.9-57
Eaton Boomers  4.2-26  6.5-41  6.7-43  8.8-56

Goals: Harvey Brunswick Leschenault – Shannon Sabourne 2, Jack Strand 2, Taine Williams 1, Chris Strano 1, Kieran Chell 1, Jordan Goff 1.  Eaton Boomers – Scott Tynan 2, Jason Hill 2, Dylan Ramsay, Joshua Kelly, Stephen Kane, Jordan Teune.
Best: Harvey Brunswick Leschenault – Thomas Heenan, Jack Strand, Brendan Stemp, Taine Williams, Jordan Green, Jordan Westaway.  Eaton Boomers – Robert Loo, Dylan Ramsay, Jordan Cuxson, Scott Tynan, Lloyd Hutch, Joshua Kelly
Umpires: Vance Burton, Damien O’Donoghue, Matt Chernabaeff
Reports: Nil
Don Punch Trophy: Brendan Stemp HBL
Ground: Hands Memorial Oval


Match Centre

Bunbury 4.2-26  9.3-57  16.8-104  20.10-130
Busselton 1.3-9  6.6-42  8.7-55  10.10-70

Goals:  Bunbury –  Jett Rigby 6, Jake Symington 3, Malik Davis 3, Zac Birch 3, Zac. Jerrard 2, Nicholas Pemberton, Corey McVee, Jayen Farrant.  Busselton – Ryley Broadbent 2, Joshua Wright 2, Harry Curtin 2, Jaylen Colegate, Liam Cullen, Joshua Lee, Connorr Timms
Best: Bunbury –  Jett Rigby, Thomas O”Brien, Nicholas Pemberton, Beau Luzi, Zac Jerrard, Blake La Rosa.  Busselton –  Thomas Kusal, Jake Coverley, Jack Stewart, Harry Curtin, Caleb Foster, Jayden Milner
Umpires: Matthew Stewart, Scott Golder, Cameron Edmonds
Reports: Nil
Trophies West Medal: Jett Rigby
Ground: Hands Memorial Oval