Travis Cleggett Wins Hayward Medal

Travis Cleggett from the Collie Eagles has won the 72nd presentation of the Hayward Medal for the South West Fooball League, at the Lighthouse Beach Resort in Bunbury of Friday night.

Cleggett is the first ever winner from the Collie Eagles, and the first Collie player to win the award since Aaron Marley won the medal for Mines Rovers in 1999.

Cleggett is just the fourth player in the history of the award to poll 25 votes, five clear of Mitch Lynn of Augusta Margaret River and Kieran Hug of Donnybrook, both who polled 20 votes.  Chris Atthowe was fourth from Eaton Boomers with 19 votes.

Twenty one year old Cleggett paid tribute to his club and his team mates, who were left behind in Collie to train for this weekends first semi final.

Further details of the votes will be posted later.

Other winners….

Dale Alcock Homes, Club Champion Award: Harvey Brunswick Leschenault

Nola Marino Medal, Womens:  Trisha Lake

Parks Tavern Rising Star Award:   Travis Cleggett

Halifax Crane Hire Under 19 Future Star Award:  Patrick Farrant

Reserves Fairest & Best Player: Jayden Smith

Colts Fairest & Best Player: Tait Spowart

BCE Surveying Coaches Award:  Kieran Hug

Phoenix Petroleum Player of the Year:  Jordan Falco

Southern City Sheds League Leading Goal Kicker:  Joel Houghton – 59 Goals

Dale Alcock Homes Women’s League Goal Kicker:  Trisha Lake – 37 Goals

Southern City Sheds Under 19 Leading Goal Kicker: Jacob Pickett – 29 Goals

Southern City Sheds Under 19 Leading Goal Kicker: Dylan Heasman – 29 Goals

CBA Bank Reserves Player of the Year (Voted by Coaches):  Jayden Smith

Parks Centre Reserves Leading Goal Kicker:  Chris Strano – 51 Goals

Express Print Colts Player of the Year (Voted by Coaches): Kai Luz

Sports Marine Colts Leading Goal Kicker:   Taine Williams – 63 Goals