Verbrugge A Two Time Winner

Jessica Verbrugge has become the first player to win the prestigious Nola Marino Medal for a second time, after she won tonight’s medal count by one vote over last years winner, Katie-Jayne Grieve.

The two players were neck and neck throughout the count, along with Harvey Bulls Rachel Wright who finished third.

Wright led after twelve rounds by two votes, before Verbrugge scored three best on ground performances between rounds thirteen to eighteen, to take a one point lead over Grieve.  The duo both scored five votes each in the remain four rounds, with Verbrugge getting the vital two points in the final match of the season.

Grieve polled 30 votes, the same as last season, while the Lions Giann Evans had a great season finishing fourth, ahead of Dunsborough duo Olivia Caldow and Shelby Foster who rounded out the top six.

Verbrugge thanked her mum, her coach Max Jetta and the Donnybrook Football Club for being highly supportive of Women’s football.


Name Club Total
1 Jessica Verbrugge Donnybrook 31
2 Katie-Jayne Grieve Busselton 30
3 Rachel Wright Harvey Bulls 27
4 Giaan Evans HBL 24
5 Olivia Caldow Dunsborough 23
6 Shelby Foster Dunsborough 19
7 Trinity Brown Harvey Bulls 19
8 Krystal Carter Harvey Bulls 15
9 Melinda Bobby Bunbury 13
10 Indiana West Bunbury 11
11 Ruby Mahony Bunbury 11
12 Beth Beckett Busselton 10
13 Kiarni Stevens South Bunbury 10
14 Kloe Bassett Bunbury 10
15 Ebony Dowson Eaton 9
16 Emma Borinelli Busselton 9
17 Sabella Banks Busselton 9
18 Daisy Rigby Bunbury 8
19 Sophie Oldfield Eaton 8
20 Tessa Kongras HBL 8