Who Are The Harvey Bulls, We Will Find Out In A Week!

Who are the Harvey Bulls?  It could be the question you ask this season, with a mass exodus from the club at the end of last season, resulting in a whole group of new players joining the club in 2024.

Mark Pink also left the coaching role, which has been taken up by Kurt Haunold.

With Harvey in close proximity to the Peel Football League, there is always a turnover, but this year it was pronounced, with players from Waroona, Pinjarra, Boddington, and Halls Head amongst a plethora on new players.  Braden Fimmano, Ryan Lester-Smith and Jordan Strahan are amongst those to watch out for this season.

Players including Tyson Powell, Jordan Pink, Stirling Hayden, Matthew Bennell, Rhys Anzellino, Jarrod Bowman, Eli Smith, Lloyd Beever, Paul Bower, Sam Lewis, Thomas Wood, Andrew Haydon and prolific goal kicker Brad Holmes have all moved, mostly to clubs in the Peel Football League.  Michelle Mullins, who was a great player in the clubs Women’s team, has also moved on.

It will be a big test for the club to get cohesion within the new group to replace 13 players who were regulars in the league team last season.  The Bulls have been training hard with big numbers on the training track, so don’t write off the resolve of the Bulls in 2024.  The team has gelled well together and recently won two games in the Peel Football League pre-season competition.

The season will start next Saturday for the Bulls with a home game against Harvey Brunswick Leschenault for the Harvey Fresh Cup.  After the opening game they have matches against two teams who played finals in 2023, Carey Park and Bunbury.  With a twenty round season, the Bulls only play last years premiers in Busselton once and they also only play South Bunbury once, which will be a home game in round five.  The Bulls finish the season against three teams who finished in the bottom six last season, in Augusta Margaret River, Dunsborough and Collie Eagles.

Carlo Celisano (Reserves), Anthony DeAngelis (Colts) and Peter Jones (Women’s) will be the other coaches this season.