Defending Champs Move Into Top Five

Busselton have moved into the top five after demolishing Harvey Bulls at Sir Stewart Bovell Park on Sunday afternoon, in the final game of round eleven of the Dale Alcock Homes South West, SWFL premiership season.

It has been a bad week for the Bulls, with the announcement that key players, Jordan Strahan and Cooper Sparks had transfers pending to other clubs in other Associations, and then on Friday, Coach Kurt Haunold parted ways with the club as well.

Lucas Kemp on his way up to taking mark of the year. Sharyn Newland photos.

Busselton meanwhile showed no mercy, winning by 122 points, celebrating Jed Kemps 100th game in style, with Kemp kicking the opening goal of the match.  The Bulls were kept scoreless in the opening term, and trailed by 62 points at half time.  The Magpies never let up in the second half, kicking a further twelve goals.

Ironically, the Bulls three goals came from Strahan and Sparks, who’s transfers were completed after the match.

Busselton had fourteen goal kickers, headed by Liam Creighton who kicked four, while Mitch Tenardi was again outstanding.  Lucas Kemp was another highlight for the Magpies when he pulled in a screamer.

Busselton have won their last three games by an average of 91.6 points against Collie, Dunsborough and Harvey Bulls, moving into fifth place at the expense of Augusta Margaret River.  The Magpies have a two week break, having the bye in round twelve before the general bye for the Nutrien Ag Championships.  After the break they play Bunbury,  Carey Park and Harvey Brunswick Leschenault which will go a long way to determining if they make the final five at the end of the season.    Harvey Bulls will have no respite in round twelve, when they face second placed Bunbury.

Match Centre

Busselton          6.6.42      10.10.70     16.11.107     22.15.147
Harvey Bulls     0.0.0          1.2.8            2.5.17          3.7.25

Goals:  Busselton  – Liam Creighton 4, Beau Chinnery 3, Mitch Tenardi 3, Jackson Arbon 2, Blake Cann 2, James deMorton 2, Ethan Bowman 1, Joshua Fleming 1, Mitchell Fraser 1, Brodie Howell 1, Jed Kemp 1, Jon Meadmore 1, Jozef Parkinson 1.   Harvey Bulls – Jordan Strahan 2, Cooper Sparks 1.
Best:  Busselton  – Mitchell Tenardi, Aidan Austen, Mitchell Fraser, Ethan Bowman, Jon Meadmore, Blake Cann.  Harvey Bulls  – Ryder Turner, Riley Vidovich, Braden Fimmano, Logan Egerton-green, Domenico Celisano, Dean Miller
Ground:  Sir Stewart Bovell Park
Umpires:  Scott Jones, Kevin Hutchins
Reports:  Nil
Crowd:  601

Photos courtesy of Sharyn Newlands.